Samsung Galaxy S9 launch live stream: Watch the event right here

Alistair Charlton 25 February 2018

Samsung's answer to the iPhone X, called the Galaxy S9, is being revealed in Barcelona this evening. Judging by the leaks we have seen so far, there will be two models - the Galaxy S9 and larger S9+ - and the latter will have an improved camera over its smaller sibling.

We are also seeing rumors that the Galaxy S9 duo will pack a feature to rival the Animoji of the iPhone X, although exactly what this is remains to be seen. We're also hoping for more smart home integration via the Bixby personal assistant and Samsung SmartThings.

The big news for the Galaxy S9+ is a rear camera which reportedly features two lenses with two different apertures; F1.5 and F2.4. This feature, which could give the phone class-leading photography performance, means the handset should take incredibly fast and sharp photos in natural light, while also performing well in low light. The proof, as always, will be in the testing.

Samsung is kicking off its Unpacked event at 6pm local time on February 25, which is 5pm GMT, 12pm EST and 9am PST. The event is expected to last for around an hour, and although the phones will be the stars of the show, Samsung might use the time to tease more upcoming products.

The event will be live-streamed on Samsung's website here, and also on the company's YouTube channel here. We will embed a video of the event on this page once it gets underway in a few hours time.