Apps
iStock

How to hide old Facebook posts in bulk with new Manage Activity tool

New feature makes it easier to hide or delete old posts

Like GearBrain on Facebook

Facebook this week announced a new tool that makes it easier to hide or delete posts you no longer want the world to see, or don't want to be reminded of.

It has always been possible to scroll through your profile and delete individual posts, but the new tool, called Manage Activity, makes it easier to do this en masse.

Read More:


For example, you might want to hide posts from your college freshers' party before applying for a new job, or remove a bunch of photos with an ex-partner tagged in them.

There are a couple of options here. The first lets you archive content, which hides it from everyone apart from you. The second puts content in the trash, where they remain for 30 days until the content is permanently deleted. Or you can manually delete posts immediately, if you so wish. What's key here is how the content can be searched and filtered, making it easy to gather up then archive or delete masses of posts or photos at once.

"Whether you're entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people's lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today," Facebook said.

How to use Manage Activity on Facebook

The Manage Activity feature is currently only available on the new Facebook Lite smartphone app, but will be coming to the regular app soon, and to the desktop in the future.

To access it on the Lite app, go to your profile page and tap on the Go To Activity Log button.

Here you will be shown a timeline of everything you have ever done on Facebook since you first created your profile. Every photo you added, every friend you make, every post written and even every time you clicked the Like button. It's all here, in reverse chronological order.

Before Manage Activity was launched, you could search the activity log by year and category, then view and delete each individual action. But with Manage Activity enabled, you can filter this view of your Facebook life.

Tap on Manage Activity at the top of the page, then Your Posts. You can now click on Filter at the top of the screen and pick what type of content you want to archive or delete, such as photos and videos, posts from other apps, and status updates.

You can then tap on each piece of content and decide whether you want to archive it, so only you can see it, or put it in the trash, where it'll be deleted after 30 days. Before those 30 days are up, items in the trash can be restored to where they were before.

The filter tool can also be used to find posts with specific people tagged in them, or from a specific date range, making it easier to manage your Facebook content in bulk.

Facebook Portal Smart Video Calling 10” Touch Screen Display with Alexa White


Like GearBrain on Facebook
Show Comments ()

THE GEARBRAIN