A new post on the company's FAQ website explains how the time its two billion users have to agree to the new policy has been extended. They now have until May 15, and if they have not agreed to the policy by then, their app's functionality will be restricted.
- How to save phone storage with WhatsApp's new file management tool
- WhatsApp limits message forwarding to fight pandemic fake news
- Don't worry, ads aren't coming to your WhatsApp chats after all
The app will not be deleted, but the company explains how "you won't have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you'll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won't be able to read or send messages from the app."
The changes relate to an expansion into the e-commerce sector by WhatsApp, focusing on a system where users will be able to communicate with businesses using the app. It has been wrongly claimed that the change will allow Facebook to see messages shared between WhatsApp users and their contacts, but these remain encrypted and can only be seen by the sender and the recipient – not by Facebook or even WhatsApp itself.
Users who want to leave WhatsApp before May 15 can export their chat history and download a report of their account. WhatsApp warns that deleting an account is something that cannot be reversed, and doing so erases your message history with all contacts, removes you from all group chats and deletes your WhatsApp backups.