Arlo

How to reset Arlo security cameras before moving or giving them away

Security cameras are among the most important smart home devices to reset when moving out

Like GearBrain on Facebook

If you choose to leave your security cameras behind when moving — perhaps because they are part of a custom installation, or because the buyer paid a premium to keep them — you need to reset them correctly.

The same could be said for all smart home devices. But where forgetting to factory reset smart lighting and switches is a minor annoyance to the property buyer and seller alike, sensitive devices like security cameras, such as the Arlo system, need to be handed over with care.

Arlo security camera system, specifically, can be easily reset to factory settings, returning the system to as-new condition. This means any hardware left behind when you move from your former home can be set up and used by the new owner.

Read More:

Particularly useful about Arlo camera systems, is that to reset them you only need access to the SmartHub base station. This makes it easy for the property seller to quickly reset the system, but also means the buyer can reset everything without having access to the previous owner's account. Some systems, like Ring, ask for the previous owner to remove devices from their account before they can be reset and used by someone else.

To perform a factory reset on your Arlo SmartHub or Arlo base station, resetting all settings to default and removing your account from the system, follow these instructions:

  1. Use a pen or straightened paperclip to press and hold the Reset button on the back of the base station
  2. Hold the button in for 10 seconds
  3. Wait for the base station to reset
  4. The LEDs on the front will flash amber

Arlo security camera Arlo security camera systems are easy to reset and sell or give away Arlo

Once the lights have stopped flashing, the base station will reboot, and after that the reset process is complete. The base station is now ready to be connected to the new owner's Wi-Fi network and added to their Arlo account. At this point, the previous owner can no longer access or control the system in any way at all. Lastly, remember to remove any SD cards you have used to store footage locally.

This reset process works with the following models of Arlo SmartHub and base station:

  • VMB3000
  • VMB3010
  • VMB3500
  • VMB4000
  • VMB4540
  • VMB5000
  • VMC4040P
  • VMC5040
  • VMC3030
  • VMC4030
  • VMC4030P

Arlo Pro 3 Wire-Free Security System - 3 Camera Kit


Like GearBrain on Facebook
Show Comments ()

SUBSCRIBE TO THE GEARBRAIN NEWSLETTER

FOLLOW US ON